cmmarketWritten dec 25th, 2012

I’m glad to have this holiday break, not only to get out of the kitchen, but to have some time to reflect on the past and plan for the coming year.

Man, oh man! To my estimates, I sold about 2,000 jars last year. I probably sampled from, gave away & traded another 1,000. That. Is. A lot. Of. Jam!
It is amazing to contemplate those numbers even though I made every single jar!

My goal last year was to try selling at one of the local farmer’s markets. I was accepted into the Cedar Mill Farmer’s Market at the end of May.

Oh, it was cold and rainy those first couple of weeks! My sales increased along with the weather all summer long. I knew this would be a good place to put down some roots, even if only for the season.

As the weather warmed, so did the customer’s appreciation for my handmade jams. I started to look forward to the good natured banter and new opportunities to be shared with the other vendors. It wasn’t long before I felt quite at home among the other artisan vendors and farmers.

